Sharper than a serpent’s tooth?

In my last post I broached the subject of filial piety.

No one expresses it with greater brilliance than W. Shakespeare:

How sharper than a serpent’s tooth it is

To have a thankless child.

(King Lear)



2 Responses to “Sharper than a serpent’s tooth?”

  1. How true dear Roger, how true but let’s probe further:

    Cordelia:
    “You have begot me, bred me, loved me.
    I return those duties back as are right fit,
    Obey you, love you, and most honour you…”
    (I.1.96)

    And the regret came later:

    Lear:
    “I am a very foolish fond old man,
    Four score and upward, not an hour more nor less,
    And, to deal plainly,
    I fear I am not in my perfect mind…”
    (IV.7.60) Lear

  2. While lunching at Hougang Point food court I noticed an elderly cleaner. I asked him for his age and he said 82.

    But why are you still working at 2 i asked?

    With a shrug he said, “What to do? My children lead their own lives now.”

    Meaning his children are not looking after him. Another sad case.

    Uniquely Singapore when you see many elderly people forced to work as cleaners.


Comments are closed.

