AWARE SAGA: Straits Times was objective, fair and balanced?

Today ST carried a long report by a researcher who claims that, except for one photograph, the paper was fair, balanced and unprejudiced in its coverage of the AWARE saga.

It’s an interesting article except that I am not convinced.

At the height of the saga, ST gave it extensive coverage. Throughout the controversy I failed to see the urgency and significance with which ST attached to it. In fact, as its coverage grew in intensity and other news became sidelined I became increasingly irritated.

As a neutral observer, I could see very clearly which side ST was throwing its weight behind.

No matter what spin you put on the controversy, most neutral people I spoke to at the time also wondered at ST’s extensive coverage.

And there’s an interesting footnote here: the researcher was a former ST journalist.

