Foldable bicycle on MRT: feeling like a freak!

Ever since MRT allowed cyclists to bring their foldable bicycles on board the trains, I’ve taken in my bicycle close to 20 times.

I always board the last carriage because there’s an empty space where I can stow my bicycle as shown in the photo.

Whenever MRT officials spot me they get alarmed and ask, “Is that a foldable bicycle?” or “Make sure it doesn’t fly open”.

“Use the lift not the escalator” is another one.

They think I’m Dennis the Menace or something.

Apparently, the foldable bicycle on the MRT is still a rarity and so it causes a ripple of excitement when they spot one.

It’s not only with MRT officials but other passengers as well actually. They stare at me as though I’ve done something wrong. Frankly, my bicycle takes up less space than a baby stroller

Strangely I’ve yet to see another passenger with a foldable bicycle. Sometimes I feel like a freak.

Ha, it’d be nice to have some company for a change.

3 Responses to “Foldable bicycle on MRT: feeling like a freak!”

  1. Hi, don’t worry. You are not alone. I feel the same way as well but I am getting used to it. I have tried to commute with MRT and bicycle to work at least twice or three times a week.

  2. I don’t know why only they allow foldable bikes on mrt? Is normal bikes allowed?


Comments are closed.

