Man killed in Ang Mo Kio Park: why police patrols missing? Part 2

Allow me to share my experience about police patrols in Japan on a recent visit (before the earthquake and tsunami).

Because of a disappointing lack of police patrols in Singapore, I noticed these things.

In Tokyo and other big cities, I noticed small police posts everywhere, even in public parks. I  was surprised to see cops on bicycles, something which I used to see a long long time ago in Singapore.

In train stations they also make their presence felt. They were not just going through the motions but scanned the crowds for suspicious people. In fact, in Kyoto train station I was picked out by a cop.

At shopping malls, I also saw cops on foot patrols. Again, they took their job seriously and were not merely patrolling aimlessly.

Their traffic police also took their duties seriously. Early in the morning they were already out in the streets monitoring the traffic.

People have written to the Straits Times Forum calling for police to beef up their patrols but I don’t understand why the  Singapore  Police Force have yet to give the public any response.

All the police often say is that (after a crime incident) they will step up police patrols.

One of the shared visions of SPF is “We are feared by those inclined to crime and disorder. We are always ready to deal with any threats to the safety and security of Singapore.”

Have SPF’s priorities changed over the years? 

Crime occurs because of an opportunity to commit it and get away with it. In Singapore such opportunities are in abundance. 

8 Responses to “Man killed in Ang Mo Kio Park: why police patrols missing? Part 2”

  1. […] the Rise of Asia – My Singapore News: Forcing round pegs into square holes – SpotlightOnSingapore: Man killed in Ang Mo Kio Park: why police patrols missing? Part 2 – TOC: For her son’s bright future – AWARE: Hot or not, it shouldn’t matter to the […]

  2. Shortage of manpower is the excuse by SPF. They only do patrol in their patrol car these dasy citing the ability to cover lager area as reported by SPF before.

    • Since SPF always harps on security issues, isn’t it logical to increase manpower if there is really a shortage? Is the shortage so severe that police presence is practically zero? I’m carrying out an experiment to see how many police patrols I can spot in 7 days. The public can do the same.

  3. Don’t disturb them…they’re still investigating the cooling-off day complaint

  4. Read about the two Burger King armed robbery? A lack of police presence tempts people to commit crime. Is it not better to deter and prevent crime in the first place than commit manpower and resources to solving cases, going through legal process etc. ? Why is SPF not convinced and keeping silent?

  5. Could it be that most of the police officers on foot are in plainclothes, surreptitiously listening to conversations so as to obtain evidence of defiance & impending revolution ? 😉 Anyway, I saw a patrol car cruise by a few days ago. Otherwise, the 2 times that I encountered the police on foot patrol was in 2010 & 1990s.

    In 2010 (11+pm), I had just reached my place & was replying to a text message while standing beside a pillar at the void deck, when I was surrounded by a group of 7 police officers. Their uniformed spokesperson demanded to know what I was doing there & asked for my IC, “Oh, so you live at this block.” Great … the most surprising news of the year indeed. One guy in plainclothes then spent some 10 minutes verifying my identity via a large data-logger & a phone call to an unknown person. Meanwhile, everyone in the group was silently loitering around me, until I finally asked, “What’s the matter ? Is it a crime for me to stand under my block ?” SOP rely: “Just a routine check.” Yeah, right … they did not search me, check my phone, or ask me any other question. How BORING. After several more minutes, they returned me my pink proof of citizenship to S’pore the Non-Country, & left w/o any further explanation. Huh ? So I got my particulars logged for standing under my own block, even as there were numerous groups of drunk foreign men sprawled on grass littered with beer bottles & peanuts throughout the neighbourhood ?

    The 1990s encounter was equally bizarrely irritating. One sunny afternoon, when walking home from school, I was stopped by a lone smiling policeman on foot. And goodness why? He thought my thick white uniform was strange. Oh well, I couldn’t think of anything to say to him, so I merely responded, “Yah, like a nun’s.” However, my reply proved no deterrence & he continued, “Which school ? Which year ? What time does school end everyday?” & what not. After awhile, I got tired of his non-stop talking under the hot sun, said bye & walked away.

    Yesterday’s news featured a social worker who explained that their role is not merely curative, but also preventive — to prevent bad things from happening, & also prevent things from getting worse. I would have thought that the police force also observes a similar code of practice & conduct. However, it seems that police officers are merely picking out convenient targets (read: obviously no need to give chase, arrest or write a report) for aimless chit-chat or meaningless questioning — just so that they can log in that they have performed the requisite patrol checks. In the meantime, we hear about the murders, robberies, burglaries, arsons, rapes & so on. And what about those crimes that are not even reported ?

  6. I set myself the task of seeing how many police patrols I could spot in a week. The answer is ZERO.


Comments are closed.

